June 18, 2023
    National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum

All the Pretty Horses is the first volume in Cormac McCarthy’s Border Trilogy. This National Book Awards winner for fiction tells the tale of John Grady Cole, who at 16 finds himself at the end of a long line of Texas ranchers, cut off from the only life he has ever imagined for himself. With two companions, he sets off for Mexico on a sometimes idyllic, sometimes comic journey to a place where dreams are paid for in blood. Read the West Book Club meets monthly. Select books available for purchase in The Museum Store (15% discount for Museum members). Refreshments provided. $9; $6 for Museum members. Register by June 15. NOTE: Read the West Book Club selections may include content not suitable for all readers. Language and descriptions ascribed by the creators of certain works may be considered derogatory, offensive or graphic in nature. Outdated language and depictions are products of their time and do not reflect the views and values of the National Cowboy Museum. Language and societal norms shift, and the Museum seeks to reflect on such changes and our understanding through program discussions of literary selections.